The fireworks were on at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Ironically it was a moment that signalled home team Royal Challengers Bangalore’s exit from the Airtel Champions League. Cape Cobras had just defeated Victoria Bushrangers by eight wickets in the second phase League B match here on Saturday when fireworks arched through the night sky.

Chasing Bushrangers’ 125 for five in 17 overs, Cobras scored 129 for two in 16 overs. Both teams were level at four points each while Royal Challengers, with a blank points tally at the moment of Cobras’ triumph, became the second Indian Premier League team after Deccan Chargers to crash out of the tournament.

Henry Davids’ unbeaten 69 (54b, 7x4, 2x6) fashioned Cobras’ victory after openers – captain Andrew Puttick and Derek Brand (29) – were out within five overs. Davids essayed confident shots, hoisting left-arm spinner Jon Holland for two sixes and with J.P. Duminy (18 n.o.) dropping anchor, victory was secured with six deliveries to spare.

Davids, who was dropped by Aiden Blizzard, shared an unbeaten 88-run third-wicket partnership with Duminy. Earlier, security concerns and the detention and subsequent release of a Jammu and Kashmir under-22 cricketer over alleged residual traces of explosive material in his bag, delayed the start by 100 minutes and the match was reduced to 17 overs per side. Soon Bushrangers' openers Rob Quiney and Brad Hodge strode out and scampered back within a span of three deliveries as Monde Zondeki struck.

At zero for two, Bushrangers search for stability, hinged on a string of cameos. David Hussey (19) clouted a big six off J.P. Duminy before allrounder Andrew McDonald’s unbeaten 29 lent some urgency to the scoreboard towards the end. Blizzard (22), skipper Cameron White (24) and Matthew Wade (18 n.o.) also chipped in but the total failed to stretch Cobras later in the night.

The scores.

Victoria Bushrangers: R. Quiney c Philander b Zondeki 0, B. Hodge b Zondeki 0, A. Blizzard c van Zyl b Kleinveldt 22, D. Hussey c Kleinveldt b Duminy 19, C. White c Ontong b Philander 24, A. McDonald (not out) 29, M. Wade (not out) 18. Extras (lb-3, w-9, nb-1): 13. Total (for five wickets in 17 overs): 125.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-0, 3-27, 4-59, 5-94.

Cape Cobras bowling: Zondeki 4-0-21-2, Kleinveldt 3-0-27-1, Henderson 4-0-19-0, Duminy 3-0-34-1, Philander 2-0-12-1, Engelbrecht 1-0-9-0.

Cape Cobras: A. Puttick c McDonald b Siddle 4, D. Brand (run out) 29, H. Davids (not out) 69, J.P. Duminy (not out) 18. Extras (lb-4, w-5): 9. Total (for two wickets in 16 overs): 129.

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-41.

Victoria Bushrangers bowling: Harwood 3-0-38-0, Siddle 4-0-19-1, McKay 4-0-26-0, Holland 2-0-20-0, McDonald 3-0-22-0.

More In: Cricket | Sport