The award comprises a trophy, citation and a cheque for Rs 25 lakhs

Former India captain Kapil Dev will be the recipient of the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for 2013, BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel said in a press release, here on Wednesday.

The award committee, comprising BCCI president N. Srinivasan, Patel, and senior journalist Ayaz Memon, in a meeting here earlier in the day, unanimously nominated Kapil for the honour. The award includes a trophy, a citation, and a cheque for Rs. 25 lakh, and will be presented at the BCCI awards ceremony for the year 2012-13.

Kapil, who led India to its first World Cup victory in 1983, is one of the greatest cricketers of all time. Along with Ian Botham, Imran Khan, and Richard Hadlee, Kapil formed a formidable ensemble of all-rounders in the 1980s. He was the first player to complete the ‘double’ of 5,000 runs and 400 wickets in Tests.

Between 1978 and 1994, Kapil represented India in 131 Tests and picked up 434 wickets. The ‘Haryana Hurricane’ also scored 5,248 runs, including eight centuries.

He played 225 ODIs, in which he took 253 wickets and scored 3,783 runs.

Special Correspondent from Delhi adds:

“I am delighted,” said Kapil. “It is always nice when you are honoured. The Lifetime award makes me feel old. I am only 55,” he said in a lighter vein, even as he thanked the Board for including him in a list containing some legendary names in Indian cricket history.

Previous winners:

1994: Lala Amarnath; 1995: Syed Mushtaq Ali; 1996: Vijay Hazare; 1997: K.N. Prabhu; 1998: P.R. Umrigar; 1999: Hemachandra Adhikari; 2000: Subhash Gupte; 2001: M.A.K. Pataudi; 2002: Bhausaheb Nimbalkar; 2003: Chandrakant Borde; 2004: B.S. Bedi, B. Chandrasekhar, EAS Prasanna, S. Venkataraghavan; 2007: Nariman Contractor; 2008: Gundappa Viswanath; 2009: Mohinder Amarnath; 2010: Salim Durrani; 2011: Ajit Wadekar; 2012: Sunil Gavaskar.

Keywords: Kapil DevBCCI award

More In: Cricket | Sport | News