Sport » Cricket

Updated: August 27, 2009 18:40 IST

Chawla in Sussex Sharks probables list

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
Piyush Chawla. Photo: K. Ramesh Babu
Piyush Chawla. Photo: K. Ramesh Babu

Sussex Sharks has named leg-spinner Piyush Chawla in its 20-member probables list for the Airtel Champions League Twenty20 to be played in India from October 8 to 23.

Chawla turned out for Sussex in one ECB Twenty20 Cup against Surrey at Hove on June 22 and took two for 17 in four overs. Chawla has a three-year contract with Kings XI Punjab in the DLF-IPL.

Sussex has also named Pakistan seamer Yasir Arafat in the list, which will be reduced to 15 some days before the start of the tournament. While 11 teams have announced their probables, Wayamba (Sri Lanka) has named its 15-member team.

Seven players from the three IPL teams — Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore (winner and runner-up in season II) and Delhi Daredevils (Group stage topper in season II) — had the option to choose either their home team or away team (IPL team).

The CL T20 rule is that if a player decides to play for an away team rather than his home team (the team from the country he is eligible to represent in international cricket), the away team must pay $ 200,000 in compensation to the home team.

Nannes for Daredevils

Nathan Bracken (RCB / NSW Blues) has chosen NSW Blues, Dirk Nannes (Victorian Bushrangers / Delhi Daredevils) DD, David Warner (NSW Blues / Delhi Daredevils) NSW Blues, Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers / RCB) VB, Andrew McDonald (Victorian Bushrangers / Delhi Daredevils) VB, Herschelle Gibbs (Cape Cobras / Deccan Chargers) CC and Farveez Maharoof (Wayamba / Delhi Daredevils) Wayamba.

Dwayne Smith (Deccan Chargers / Sussex Sharks — both away teams) is in the SS squad. New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum has chosen to play for Otago Bolts and not NSW Blues with which he has a contract.

More In: Cricket | Sport

Listen to The Hindu's Sports Editor Nirmal Shekar speak to our Sports-Writer Arun Venugopal on India's tour of England and the Commonweath Games....Listen in »






Recent Article in Cricket

Ravindra Jadeja (left) and James Anderson.

Anderson and Jadeja declared not guilty

The International Cricket Council (ICC)’s judicial commissioner Gordon Lewis A.M. declared that England’s James Anderson and India’s Rav... »