Robin Uthappa’s 54 and a lower order that stung helped Bangalore Brigadiers defeat Bijapur Bulls by four wickets in a Mantri Karnataka Premier League match at the Gangothri Glades Ground here on Saturday.

Chasing Bulls’ 166 for two in 19 overs, Brigadiers scored 167 for six in 17.4 overs.

Brigadiers secured a semifinal berth after its fifth victory from six matches nudged its points tally to 10. Bulls stayed at eight points after finishing its seven league matches and remains in contention for the last-four stage but will have to await the outcome of the other matches.

Brigadiers’ chase hinged on opener C.B. Karthik (38) before Uthappa (54, 39b, 4x4, 2x6) found his touch finally in the KPL. Uthappa glided a few singles down to third-man before pounding runs past mid-wicket.

A reprieve on 39 when C.K. Akshay dropped him helped Uthappa surge past his 50 with a dismissive six off J.P. Shetty.

Striking back

The seamer however struck back, prising out Uthappa and after a few more wickets fell, M. Vinod (18 n.o.) waded into Stuart Binny with a four and two sixes to finish the match.

Earlier, opener Mithun Beerala’s unbeaten 63 (55b, 7x4, 1x6) along with Binny’s fiery 41 not out (17b, 1x4, 5x6) bolstered Bulls’ score.

After overnight rains reduced the match to 19 overs per side, Bulls lost opener Gaurav Dhiman cheaply but Beerala pulled Dilip Sagar for six and grew in confidence while finding support from Devraj Patil (38) and Binny, who slammed M. Vinod and Sagar for three and two sixes respectively.

However, in the end, Binny the bowler failed while Brigadiers emerged as winner.

Maharaajas posts win

Later in the afternoon, Mysore Maharaajas defeated Mangalore United by 13 runs. United (4 pts) crashed out of the tournament, while Maharaajas (6 pts) has one more match to press its claims for a semi-final berth.

Amidst low slung clouds and in fading light, United could manage only 161 for eight in 20 overs, chasing Maharaajas 174 for seven in 20 overs.

United’s hopes rested on opener Rohit Sabharwal (51) and Vijay Chavan’s cameo (19) before Maharaajas had the last laugh.

Maharaajas earlier thrived on S.P. Manjunath’s unbeaten 55 (32b, 3x4, 3x6).

The scores: Bijapur Bulls 166 for two in 19 overs (M. Beerala 63 n.o., S. Binny 41 n.o., D. Patil 38) lost to Bangalore Brigadiers 167 for six in 17.4 overs (R. Uthappa 54, C.B. Karthik 38).

Mysore Maharaajas 174 for seven in 20 overs (S.P. Manjunath 55 n.o., S. Manager 42, C. William 42) bt Mangalore United 161 for eight in 20 overs (R. Sabharwal 51, B. Chipli 25).

Sunday’s matches at Mysore: Belagavi Panthers vs. Shamanur Davangere Diamonds, 10 a.m.; Bangalore Provident vs. Malnad Gladiators, 1.45 p.m.

More In: Cricket | Sport