In a major overhaul of the Indian Premier League, the BCCI on Wednesday dropped Sunil Gavaskar from the Twenty20 league’s Governing Council, which was reduced to a seven-member panel with a tenure of just one year instead of five.

The decision to drop Gavaskar from the IPL Governing Council was taken by the Cricket Board in its Annual General Meeting, which also appointed interim chairman Chirayu Amin as full-time chief of the Twenty20 league.

“The IPL Governing Council constitution was changed today at the AGM. The period of the Governing Council, which is a sub-committee, of the Board has been reduced to one year from five years,” BCCI president Shashank Manohar told reporters.

“It will have five members and two cricketers will be part of the committee. Earlier, cricketers used to be paid Rs one crore but BCCI decided no payment will be made from now onwards,” he said.

Apart from Amin, the Board retained Ravi Shastri and former captain Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi in the reconstituted Governing Council, which also has two new members in Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association president Anurag Thakur and former national selector Ranjeeb Biswal.

Arun Jaitley, Rajiv Shukla and Ajay Shirke are the other three members of the Committee.

Among other notable decisions taken at today’s AGM, the BCCI has issued show-cause notices against three IPL franchises for irregularities.

“The Board also issued show-cause notices to Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab for various irregularities and for breach of the terms and conditions of the franchise agreement.

“The House also decided to issue a notice to Kochi franchisee to incorporate their joint venture within 10 days or face action from the BCCI,” Manohar said.

As expected, Board secretary N Srinivasan was also elevated as the new president-elect at the BCCI’s 81st AGM while other current office-bearers were elected unopposed to their respective positions.

Besides Srinivasan and Manohar, treasurer M P Pandove and joint secretary Sanjay Jagdale have also completed two years in their posts and were re-elected for a third term.

The Board also retained its national selection committee headed by Kris Srikkanth.

The Board also appointed Anil Kumble as the chairman of the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore.

It also appointed a Cricket Development Committee to be headed by former chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar. Other members of the panel include Arshad Ayub, Chetan Chauhan, Pranob Roy and Prashant Vaidya.

Among other decisions, Jyotiraditya Scindia was made the chairman of the Finance Committee. Farooq Abdullah will head the Marketing Committee, while N Venkat Sundaram was handed charge of the Ground and Pitches Committee.

It was also decided that Hyderabad will host the second Test against New Zealand after Kanpur, the original venue and Kolkata refused to take the responsibility.

The BCCI also allotted India’s second and third ODIs against New Zealand to Jaipur and Baroda after Mohali expressed its inability.

Keywords: IPL


Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab out of IPLOctober 10, 2010

More In: Cricket | Sport