A top BCCI functionary denied reports that the second vote for the players’ representative to the ICC Cricket Committee was prompted by the BCCI to swing the election in favour of L. Sivaramakrishnan.“I don’t want to comment on it, it’s purely an ICC matter. It is not a BCCI issue at all.

“The ICC should react on whatever has happened,”said the functionary, who has been part of the BCCI for many years. Another well-informed source contradicted FICA’s claim that the first vote was 9-1 in favour of Tim May. He said that Sivaramakrishnan, now engaged in broadcast work for National and International matches, may have been ahead or locked in a 5-5 score.

The BCCI functionary also said that the second vote was not carried out at the instance of the BCCI. “Why would the BCCI talk to the captains and why would foreign captains listen to the BCCI? As far as we are concerned, it is an ICC issue.”

India’s players are not part of FICA which was, until 2011, associated with the annual ICC awards. Last year, FICA had no role to play in the planning and execution of the prestigious awards programme.

“We don’t have a next line of action; we accepted an ICC proposal for the ICC to take full ownership of the event. We decided that in the interests of the awards and for all players to attend the awards function,” said May last year.

The ICC said on Monday that the ICC Cricket Committee will meet in London on May 28 and 29 and the meeting will be chaired for the first time by former India captain Anil Kumble. He has replaced West Indian Clive Lloyd.

The ex-officio members of the committee are Alan Isaac (ICC president) and David Richardson (ICC chief executive).Richardson was closely associated with the South African Cricketers Association (SACA), an important member of the FICA which was founded in 1998.

More In: Cricket | Sport