For local youngster D. Siva Kumar the Ranji Trophy Group C league match against Goa turned out to be a memorable one. He followed up his unbeaten century on Sunday with a six-wicket haul at the ACA-VDCA stadium here on Monday.

Goa was 285 for nine, still 108 runs behind in the first innings. Ravikant Shukla was unbeaten on 84 (181b, 8x4,1x6), but only a miracle can help Goa gain the lead.

Member of the Virat Kohli-led Indian team that won the under-19 World Cup in 2008, Siva Kumar was unwavering in line and length and hit the right spots on a wicket that was conducive to pace. The other medium pacers — P. Vijay Kumar, T. Atchuta Rao and K.S. Shahabuddin (who had to leave the field with a groin strain in the morning) — also managed to tie down the Goan batsmen.

Shahabuddin struck early when Goa resumed at 72 for one, with captain A.G. Pradeep diving and picking up the ball low at gully to send back Sagun Kamat. Siva Kumar, who had claimed a wicket on Sunday, began his Monday heroics by removing Manvinder Bisla, who was looking dangerous.

Amogh Desai was beaten by movement, Reagan Pinto was beaten by a straight ball, Rohit Asnodkar found the ball rushing between bat and pad as he offered a defensive prod and Shadab Jakati missed the line of the ball to be trapped in front. Goa was reduced to 239 for seven.

However, Ravikant Shukla came up with a fine batting display, playing shots all around the wicket with confidence and authority. His six over mid-wicket off Atchuta Rao was a neat effort. Shukla and his team were lucky that Hemal Vatekar dropped an easy catch at second slip when he was on five, off Atchutha Rao.

However, Atchutha Rao had some consolation when he struck twice in an over, clean bowling Saurabh Bandekar, who was offering Shukla good support, with a ball that swung in, and Sher Bahadur Yadav.

The scores:

Andhra — 1st innings: 393.

Goa — 1st innings: Sagun Kamat c Pradeep b Shahabuddin 46, Swapnil Asnodkar c Vamsi Krishna b Siva Kumar 13, Amogh Desai b Siva Kumar 20, Manvinder Bisla c Vijay Kumar b Siva Kumar 30, Ravikant Shukla (batting) 84, Reagan Pinto b Siva Kumar 29, Rohit Asnodkar b Siva Kumar 2, Shadab Jakati lbw b Siva Kumar 17, Sourabh Bandekar b Atchutha Rao 18, Sher Bahadur Yadav b Atchutha Rao 0, Harshad Gadekar (batting) 0; Extras (b-9, lb-8, nb-5, w-4): 26; Total (for nine wkts. in 111 overs): 285.

Fall of wickets: 1-43, 2-77, 3-116, 4-119, 5-209, 6-213, 7-239, 8-278, 9-278.

Andhra bowling: Shahabuddin 12.5-4-38-1, Vijay Kumar 35.1-11-64-0, Atchutha Rao 27-5-89-2, Siva Kumar 25-10-41-6, Basha 10-1-34-0, Hemal Vatekar 1-0-2-0.

Keywords: Ranji Trophy

More In: Cricket | Sport