Around 850 under-16 school teams from 70 districts in ten States will take part in the 3rd Coca-Cola cricket cup.

The tournament will be played in Mumbai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh (13 districts), Punjab (six major and 14 minor districts), Baroda, Tamil Nadu (Chennai and six districts), West Bengal (Kolkata and 18 districts), Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow and Kanpur) and Madhya Pradesh (9 districts). The State winner and runner-up teams will receive Rs. 50,000 and Rs. 35,000 as prize money and the national winner and runner-up teams will receive Rs. 1 lakh and Rs. 70,000.

India’s under-19 middle-order batsman Sarfaraz Khan made the most of it in the inaugural year of this competition and he earned a trip to England for advanced training. Mentored by India’s national selector Saba Karim, the Coca-Cola talent hunt programme will end with 15 players selected to play an overseas national schools team.

Keywords: Coca-Cola Cup

More In: Cricket | Sport