The governing council members of the Champions League T20 met the BCCI officials at the Board’s headquarters here on Saturday.

South Africa’s Gerald Majola, Cricket Australia’s James Sutherland and Dean Keano, all founder members of the Champions League, met the Cricket Board officials BCCI President Shashank Manohar, Secretary N. Srinivasan, and IPL Vice Chairman Niranjan Shah and Finance Committee chairman Rajiv Shukla.

Though there was no official meeting scheduled, the Champions League governing council members had informal discussions, sources said.

The Council is chaired by Mr. Modi, who is at the centre of a raging IPL controversy for alleged financial irregularities.

Mr. Modi was not present during the discussions.

Three Indian IPL franchisees will participate in the 12 team Champions League T20 tournament to be held in September.

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have already qualified for the tournament while the winner of the third place of the playoff match between Royal Challengers Banglore and Deccan Chargers, will be known later tonight.

Keywords: Champions LeagueT20BCCIIPL

More In: Sport | National | News | Cricket