Loyola’s Augustine Yesudas and P. Deepika (M.O.P. Vaishnav) won the 100m in the men’s and women’s sections respectively on the penultimate day of the A.L. Mudaliar athletics meet at the Nehru Stadium here on Tuesday.

Augustine overcame a stiff challenge from Zero (D.B. Jain) and S. Vikash (Pachaiyappa’s) to finish in a time of 10.70s. “I was confident before the race,” said Augustine, who has been a consistent performer, having created a meet record in the Youth Nationals at Bangalore in July (10.79s) and finishing first in the Inter-zone junior meet in Pune recently (10.98s). “I am happy as this is my personal best time.”

Deepika breasted the tape first ahead of senior athletes K. Arthi (D.G. Vaishnav) and J. Tharanya (M.O.P.) to bag the women’s 100 gold in a personal best time of 12.2s. “Honestly, I didn’t expect to win the race. Finishing second in the 100m hurdles earlier gave me enough confidence,” said Deepika.

Mohammed Arafat of Loyola, who bagged the men’s 400m gold in a time of 47.86, equalled the meet record set by Deepak Rathina in 2008-09.

There was no competition for Arafat, who finished well ahead of others. “I was running alone,” said Arafat. Arafat had won the 800m on Monday.

The results:

Men: 100m: 1. Augustine Yesudas (Loy) 10.7s, 2. Zero (D.B. Jain) 10.9, 3. S. Vikash (Pach.) 11.1; 400m: 1. Mohd. Arafat (Loy) 47.86s, 2. R. Murali (Loy) 49.98, 3. Kannan (MCC) 50.27; 20km walk: 1. S. Sanjay (Loy) 2hr, 09:32.5s, 2. V. Vignesh (Loy) 2:12:16.0, 3. Deepak (D.G. Vaishnav) 2:14:09.8; 10,000m: 1. K. Datchinamoorthy (A.M. Jain) 35:20.7s, 2. Muthukumaran (MCC) 36:10.9, 3. M. Arjun (New) 36:26.4; Shot put: 1. Sudhir (Loy) 12.96m, 2. Diwahar Raja (Loy) 12.77, 3. Soumitra Patil (MCC) 12.70.

Women: 100m: 1. P. Deepika (M.O.P.) 12.2s, 2. K. Arthi (DG Vaishnav) 12.4, 3. J. Tharanya (M.O.P.) 12.6; 400m: 1. T.S. Kavitha (M.O.P.) 58.54s, 2. M. Mahehswari (M.O.P.) 59.94, 3. Christina Mary Ann (Stella Maris) 1:00.25; 10,000m: 1. A. Anbuselvi (Ethiraj) 40:39.9s, 2. S. Vijayalakshmi (M.O.P.) 42:40.8, 3. B. Shanthi (M.O.P.) 44:05.1; 100m hurdles: 1. S. Neelavathi (M.O.P.) 15.0s, 2. P. Deepika (M.O.P.) 15.2, 3. Keerthana (Anna Adarsh) 15.2; Discus: 1. R. Kumari (M.O.P.) 35.89m, 2. M. Anjel Joseph (Ethiraj) 28.11, 3. P. Kanimozhi (Ethiraj) 27.39; Javelin: 1. R. Jothimani (M.O.P.) 39.77m, 2. Sanjana Mathew (M.O.P.) 30.43, 3. Preethi (Ethiraj) 24.10.

More In: Sport | Chennai