Kenyan Mugu Antony Ngudu triumphed at the SDAT Chennai Marathon 2011, comfortably outpacing Indian rival Ramsingh, as he logged just over two hours and 15 minutes in covering the 42.2 km course, here on Sunday.

The marathon kicked off from Anna Square at six in the morning even as traffic was re-routed to accommodate the athletes' run from the labour statue to the Velankanni Church in Besant Nagar.

As was expected, the overseas contingent enjoyed a strong run and Ramsingh's second place finish prevented a clean sweep by the Kenyans, with Kiplangatmi Teivice (Kenya) coming in third.

Erappa Dik of Karnataka and V.S. Suguna of Kerala won the men's and women's category of the half-marathon. The mini marathon (10km) for the uniformed personnel, introduced for the first time as part of the Chennai Marathon, was won by Sunil Fatan.

While the full and half-marathons predominantly saw professionals and trained athletes register, the other categories were patronised by amateurs and in a few cases, school children. J. Shankar of Government HSS, Thiruvallar, came in first in the boys' 5 km run, while the corresponding title in the girls' division went to P. Dhanapriya of P.S.G.R. Krishnammal HSS, Coimbatore.

T.P.M. Moideen Khan, Minister of State for Sports, flagged the marathon off and later gave away the prizes to the winners.

The results (Men):

Full marathon (42.2 km): 1. Mugu Antony Ngudu (Kenya) 2h 15m 4s, 2. Ramsingh (Army, Hyderabad) 2:22:03, 3. Kiplangatmi Teivice (Kenya) 2:23:01.

Half marathon (21.1 km): 1. Erappa Dik (Karnataka) 1:06:02, 2. Bahadur Singh Dhoni (Army, Hyderabad) 1:08:06, 3. Alex Kirwa (Kenya) 1:09:04.

Mini marathon (10 km): 1. G. Lakshmanan (Kavinadu Youth SS) 31m 22s, 2. Rajan Singh (Indian Railway, UP) 31:33, 3. Brijlal (IR, UP) 31:43.

Mini marathon (uniformed personnel): 1. Sunil Fatan 28:42 (MEG), 2. Sanavas 29:43 (MEG), 3. P.N. Sunish (MRC) 30:43.

5km run: 1. K. Yogendra Kumar (Western Railways, Mumbai) 16:30, 2. J. Jayaraj TNSP) 16:42, 3. M. Ravindra Khade (WR, Mumbai) 16:44.

Women (half marathon): 1. V.S. Suguna (Kerala) 1h 26m 43s, 2. Margarette Kiplagat (Kenya) 1:31:51, 3. Chiai Uraguch (Japan) 1:50:55.

Mini marathon: 1. L. Surya (TN) 38m 50s, 2. P. Rani (TN) 39:16, 3. S. Vijayalakshmi (TN) 41:50.

5km run: 1. V. Jayamala (WR, Mumbai) 19:20, 2. A. Ashiviya (TN) 19:55, 3. M. Arockia Rose (TN) 20:10.

Boys (5km run): 1. J. Shankar (GHSS, Tiruvallur) 16:42, 2. A. Alex (Pachaiyappa's HSS, Chennai) 16:43, 3. C. Supmararan (Pachaiyappa's HSS, Chennai) 16:44.

Girls (5km run): 1. P. Dhanapriya (PSGR Krishnammal, Coimbatore) 19:31, 2. C. Susila (Kavinadu YSC, Pudukottai) 19:40, 3. J. Kerchiyal (SVDS Jain, Thiruvannamalai) 19:43.

More In: Athletics | Sport