Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social

» Sport » Athletics

Updated: November 10, 2009 18:45 IST

Bolt, Isinbayeva up for athlete of the year award

Share  ·   print   ·  
A file picture of Usain Bolt.
AP A file picture of Usain Bolt.

Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt and Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva lead the contenders for the IAAF athlete of the year awards.

Bolt set three world records last year at the Beijing Olympics and broke two of those marks — in the 100 and 200 meters — in August at the world championships in Berlin.

Isinbayeva broke her own world record by clearing 5.06 meters at the Weltklasse meet in Zurich in August. Her performance beat the mark of 5.05 she cleared at the Beijing Games a year earlier.

Kenenisa Bekele, Tyson Gay, Steven Hooker and Andreas Thorkildsen are also in the running, as are Sanya Richards, Valerie Vili, Blanka Vlasic and Anita Wlodarczyk.

The winners will be announced on Nov. 22.

More In: Athletics | Sport



Recent Article in Athletics

K. Premkumar, National long jump champion, and J. Hemashree, National sprinter in relay, were chosen as the best sportsman and sportswoman respectively for the annual awards for excellence by the St. Joseph’s Sports Academy.

St. Joseph’s Sports Academy confers excellence awards

K. Premkumar, national long jump champion, and J. Hemashree, national sprinter in relay, were declared the best sportsman and sportswoman respectively. »