The vanquished Indian cricket team, barring a couple of players, traced its way back to home on Saturday, drawing curtains on a disastrous Australian tour during which it lost more than it gained.

As soon as Sri Lanka defeated Australia in Melbourne last night, the reservation plans were put afoot and the players lost little time in leaving for home today.

Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin and the entire support staff took a morning flight to Singapore today where they would board respective connecting flights to Mumbai and Chennai.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Praveen Kumar and Rahul Sharma left Brisbane this afternoon, again for Singapore where they would take the flight to Delhi.

Irfan Pathan and Parthiv Patel, with bases in Gujarat, will leave for home tomorrow.

More In: Sport | Cricket