From now on, people using Facebook on their mobiles will be able to select whether their friends, or friends of friends, or everyone can see any new information that they post about themselves, for now the social networking site has extended its privacy controls to mobile devices.
The move would allow users to control what information is publicly seen about them on the site, while on the move.
In May 2010, as a response to international criticism of Facebook’s increasingly complex privacy toolset, it amended its privacy controls, making them ‘simpler’ to use. At the time chief executive Mark Zuckerberg said the site “missed the mark” on allowing its users to easily control whether, for instance, their age, gender, friends or pictures were visible to the public.
Zuckerberg introduced “one simple control” to let users decide how they want to share their Facebook profile information, in addition to adding the ability to adjust privacy settings on a granular level. “This applies to all the products we’re going to release going forward. As well as retroactively. If you’ve set your profile so your information is viewable only to friends of friends, then all future features will also only be viewable to friends of friends,” the Telegraph quoted him as saying.
And now, the social networking giant has made the entire suite of Facebook privacy controls available from any mobile device. This means people will be able to change how much personal information is publicly available about them while on the move.
Facebook says that more than 150 million users currently access the site through their mobile devices — a number expected to grow rapidly as an increased number of people move over to smartphones with affordable Internet bundles. And the Facebook privacy feature on mobile will be available from today.
Facebook has also formatted its privacy guide especially for mobiles.