The government has extended the visa-on-arrival (VoA) facility for tourists at five more international airports, besides Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai.

The third inter-ministerial coordination committee on tourism meeting took the decision that would cover the Goa, Thiruvananthapuram, Bangalore, Hyderabad and the Kochi airports, officials in the Tourism Ministry said.

The committee was constituted at the initiative of the Prime Minister’s Office. The government has permitted the facility for citizens of Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Philippines, Myanmar and Indonesia. As many as 2,107 VoAs were issued in March, compared to 1,287 issued in the same month last year, registering a growth of 63.7 per cent.

From January to March 2013, a total of 5,744 VoAs were issued, compared to 3,905 in the corresponding period in 2012, registering a growth of 47.1 per cent.

More In: National | News