The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the smooth conduct of Tuesday’s Vice-Presidential poll in the Parliament House between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Vice-President Mohammed Hamid Ansari is the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) candidate and National Democratic Alliance (NDA) leader Jaswant Singh is his opponent. Going by the numbers, Mr. Ansari is likely to emerge victorious. While Mr. Ansari has no voting right, Mr. Singh can cast his vote. The counting of votes will be taken up at 6 p.m. on Tuesday itself and results declared thereafter.

Besides deputing senior IAS officers Sanjay Bhoose Reddy and Sumit Jerath as observers for the poll and counting of votes, the Election Commission, headed by Chief Election Commissioner V.S. Sampath, has nominated its senior officers K.F. Wilfred and K.M. Bhar as special observers, especially for the counting of votes.

According to Returning Officer and Lok Sabha Secretary-General T.K. Viswanathan, unlike the Presidential poll, where MPs could cast their vote in the premises of any Legislative Assembly in the country if they wished by taking prior permission, in the Vice-Presidential election they should exercise their franchise only in the polling station in the Parliament complex.

More In: National | News