Around 300 teachers will be conferred with National Awards tomorrow on the occasion of Teachers’ Day.

However, in a departure from the usual practice, the awards instituted since 1958 will not be given away by the President.

Vice President Hamid Ansari will give away the awards as President Pratibha Patil is currently on a two-nation tour of Russia and Tajikistan.

Meritorious teachers from primary and secondary stages are selected for the award for their contributions and are selected after a comprehensive screening process.

The 300 awardees include teachers nominated by state governments, Central Board of Secondary Education, Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, Central Tibetan School Administration, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan, Novodaya Vidyalaya Samiti and Sainik Schools.

The country celebrates Teacher’s Day on 5th September commemorating the birthday of former President and eminent scholar Dr S Radhakhrishnan.

More In: National | News