The Uttarakhand government on Thursday issued an order for the creation of four districts — Kotdwar and Yamunotri in the Garhwal division and Ranikhet and Didihaat in the Kumaon division.

Chief Minister B.C. Khanduri said that though the districts would be formally created after the Assembly polls owing to the Election Commission's restrictions, the BJP tried to fulfil yet another promise that was in tune with the aspirations of the local people.