Uttar Pradesh Governor B.L. Joshi on Monday issued notification opening nomination for the second phase of Assembly poll scheduled on February 11, 2012, covering 59 constituencies out of the total 403 seats.

The last date for filing nomination in this phase is January 23 and on the next day the papers will be scrutinised. January 27 is the last date for withdrawal of the candidature.

The notification for the third phase, covering 56 Assembly constituencies, will be issued on January 21.

PTI adds

Polling for second phase of polls covering 59 seats in Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia and Ghazipur would be held on February 11.

“More than 1.92 voters, including 1.06 crore male, 86.61 lakh female and 1,174 others, are expected to cast their votes at 20020 polling booths at 12,995 polling stations,” they said.

The second phase will seal the fate of many senior leaders, including speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar, revenue minister Phagu Chauhan, state presidents of BSP and BJP, deputy leader of SP Ambika Chaudhary, 31 MLAs and 24 former ministers.