U.P. policemen get maximum number of medals

Two Jammu and Kashmir policemen and a CRPF constable have been awarded the President's Police Medal for Gallantry posthumously for their exemplary show of courage during operations.

Constable Mushtaq Hussain Shah and SPO Nissar Hussain of Jammu and Kashmir Police were part of a team which was assigned to engage dreaded terrorists of the Hizbul Mujahideen and the Lashkar-e-Taiba hiding in the Kalyar and Pinga Gall forests of Rajouri district.

The police team surrounded the terrorists and asked them to surrender but they opened fire.The two policemen fought bravely without caring for their lives. They received injuries and died later. But due to their efforts, two dreaded terrorists were killed. It was found that the two terrorists were active in the area for long and were involved in a number of killings.

Deputy Superintendent of Police Farooq Qesor, who led the operation, was selected for Police Medal for Gallantry.

Constable Shyam Singh of 122 battalion of the Central Reserve Police Force was also selected posthumously for the President's Police Medal.

“In all, 718 personnel have been awarded police medals on the occasion of Independence Day this year,” the Home Ministry said in a statement.

It said three personnel were selected for President's Police Medal and 141 personnel for Police Medals. The President's Police Medals for Distinguished Service went to 61 personnel and the Police Medals for Meritorious Service to 513 personnel.

Correctional medal for meritorious service has been awarded to 20 personnel, it said.

The maximum number of 51 medals was given to policemen from Uttar Pradesh, while among the Central Police Organisations, the CRPF received the maximum of 72 medals for their service.

Keywords: Police Medals

More In: National | News