The Indian Tsunami Early Warning Centre here has issued a tsunami warning for three islands off the Andaman and Nicobar coast and a tsunami alert for Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu following a major earthquake off Sumatra in Indonesia.

The warning has been issued for Indira Point, Kamatra and Katchal Islands, according Satheesh C. Shenoi, Director of Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) which houses the Indian Tsunami Early Warning Centre.

He said the tsunami warning and the alerts have been sent to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Andaman and Nicobar Islands administration and various State Governments along the East Coast, including Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. As per the alert, the coastal regions might experience waves up to a height of two to two-and-half meters.

He said the situation was being constantly monitored and the concerned authorities would be regularly updated.