Three High Court judges, including two Chief Justices, were on day elevated as judges of the Supreme Court.

Justice Sudhansu Jyoti Mukhopadhaya, Chief Justice of the Gujarat High Court, Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai, Judge, Bombay High Court, and Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar, Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court were elevated to the apex court, according to separate notifications issued by the Law Ministry.

Their warrants of appointments were signed by President Pratibha Patil on Saturday.

While the Supreme Court has an approved strength of 31 judges, it is currently functioning with 26 judges. With three fresh appointments, its strength will go up to 29.

But at the same time two judges will retire this month and two more in October.

The court has approximately 47,000 cases pending before it.


Three new Supreme Court judges sworn in September 13, 2011

More In: National | News