Deputy Chief Minister M.K. Stalin on Tuesday said that welfare schemes were being implemented in the State without any political bias or favour.

Addressing a meeting after inaugurating the Arignar Anna Centenary bus stand at Poonamallee, he said the distribution of free colour television scheme was a perfect proof of his claim.

“The beneficiaries are not discriminated against on the lines of their political allegiance. Even those people who owe their allegiance to political parties which have refused to join the high-level committee headed by Chief Minister M.Karunanidhi for execution of free colour television distribution scheme, have also benefited,” he said.

Mr. Stalin pointed out that a total of 187 works worth around Rs.4.67 crore had been implemented in Poonamallee Municipal limits during the last three years in spite of the fact that the AIADMK continued to remain a majority party in the municipal council.

“During the AIADMK regime between 2001 and 2006, a total of 321 works worth around Rs.4.73 crore were executed in this municipality while the present DMK government has allocated Rs.76.21 crore for executing 885 works in this municipality,” he said.

All remaining works would be executed without fail.

Listing out names of municipalities and town panchayats in the State where new bus stands have been constructed during the last three years, the Deputy Chief Minister said that the present DMK regime gave priority to people’s welfare. The 3.50 acres of land belonging to Sri Thirukatchi Nambigal-Varadaraja Perumal Temple, Poonamallee, was bought from the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowment Board for Rs.4,20,22,720 to help the municipality construct the 28-bay bus termini with shopping complex, restaurant, rest rooms and waiting halls for commuters at a cost of around Rs.3 crore.

Further, the entire carriageway at the bus termini had been covered with cement concrete, he added.

Mr. Stalin also flagged off five Metropolitan Transport Corporation bus services on four new routes.

The Fisheries Minister, K.P.P.Sami; Poonamallee MLA D.Sudharsanam; Tiruvallur MLA E.A.P.Sivaji; Tiruvallur Collector V.Palanikumar; Director, Municipal Administration, P.Senthilkumar; and others participated in the function.