Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) leader Vijayakant said on Saturday that though his party was against inviting Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa to Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony, it should be noted that India invited leaders of all eight member states of the SAARC.

“Invitation has been extended not only to Mr. Rajapaksa but also to heads of eight countries, including Pakistan. If Mr. Rajapaksa alone had been invited, the DMDK would not have participated in the ceremony,” Mr. Vijayakant said in a statement. 

Mr. Vijayakant said he was of the opinion that the BJP-led NDA government should be given six months’ time before any criticism was made against it. “When the AIADMK assumed office, the DMDK waited for six months before highlighting people’s issues. Similarly, Mr. Modi’s government should also be given six months.”

More In: Tamil Nadu | National