Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) leader Vijayakant on Friday expelled a few local leaders in Radhapuram panchayat union and Tirunelveli district for anti-party activities.

They are all supporters of Michael Royappan, the party MLA elected from the Radhapuram constituency, who recently switched loyalty to the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and met Chief Minister Jayalalithaa on the pretext of discussing issues related to his constituency.

Those who were expelled include secretary of the Radhapuram panchayat union unit P. Suresh, Kalakadu union secretary A. Chelladurai and Tirunelveli East district deputy secretary Thomas Amirtharaj.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National