The Congress on Monday released candidates for three more constituencies in Tamil Nadu. It announced the name of Rama Suganthan, son of late TNCC president Vazhapadi K. Ramamurthy for the Dharmapuri seat.

After his father’s death, Mr. Suganthan joined the BJP in 2004. He returned to the Congress fold in 2010. Mr. Ramamurthy won the Dharmapuri constituency in 1977. In 1996, he left the Congress to form the Tamilaga Rajiv Congress and served as a Union Minister in the NDA regime. He later merged the party with the Congress in 2002. The other two candidates on the list are K. Selvaraj for Pollachi and Victory M. Jayakumar for Tiruvallur (SC). In total, the party has announced contestants for 33 seats in Tamil Nadu.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National