Home Minister E. Valsaraj on Friday filed nomination for the April 13 polls from Mahe, which is an enclave of the Union Territory in Kerala. He is contesting from the Assembly segment for the sixth consecutive time.

The day also saw other high-profile candidates, including former Chief Minister and convener of the Puducherry unit of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam R.V. Janakiraman filing his papers for the contesting from the Nellithope constituency, the seat from which he lost in 2006.

Other members of the DMK, including sitting MLA Ezhumalai and A. Johnkumar, member of the Congress party S. Muthukumarasamy, and candidates of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) E. Jeyabal, Balamohan and Kalivaradan also filed their nomination.