AIADMK wrested the Thanjavur Assembly seat from DMK when its candidate M.Rangaswamy was declared elected on Friday. Rangaswamy defeated his nearest DMK rival S.N.M.Ubayathullah, State Commercial Taxes Minister, by a margin of 7329 votes. Rangaswamy polled 75,415 votes while Ubayalthullah polled 68,086 votes.

It is a prestigious win for the AIADMK as Thanjavur is a traditional stronghold of the DMK and Ubayathullah has won from Thanjavur four times in the past. His winning spree has been broken by the AIADMK. Rangaswamy had maintained a steady lead from the beginning. Muthulakshmi, Returning officer gave the certificate to Rangaswamy in the presence of poll observer Mahajan. Total votes polled was 1,49,130. AIADMK also retained Papanasam and Orathanadu Assembly seats and wrested Thiruvaiyaru from DMK in Thanjavaur district.

At Papanasam, Duraikannu, AIADMK candidate (sitting MLA) was declared elected. He defeated his nearest Congress rival M.Ramkumar by a margin of 18,007 votes. Duraikannu polled 85,635 votes while Ramkumar polled 67,628 votes. R.Vaidyalingam, sitting AIADMK MLA and former Minister, won the Orathanadu seat. He polled 91,724 votes and defeated his nearest DMK rival K.T.Mahesh Krishnaswamy by a margin of 32,644 votes. Vaidyalingam polled 91724 votes while Mahesh Krishnaswamy polled 59,080 votes. Total votes polled was 1,58,772.

M.Rathnaswamy, AIADMK candidate was declared elected from Thiruvaiyaru Assembly . He polled 88,784 votes defeating his nearest DMK rival K.Aranganathan by a margin of 12,962 votes. Aranganathan polled 75,822 votes.

DMDK candidate Arun Pandiyan was declared elected from Peravurani constituency. He polled 50,692 votes and defeated his Congress rival Mahendran by a margin of 7955 votes. Mahendran polled 43,737 votes. The DMDK contested from two constituencies - Pattukottai and Peravurani. Ravi Kumar, Returning Officer, handed over the certificate to Arun Pandiyan in the presence of observer Kumar Raj.

The DMK won two seats in Thanjavur district out of eight Assembly constituencies. Its candidate Anbalagan won the Kumbakonam seat defeating his nearest AIADMK rival R.Ramanathan by a margin of 1272 votes. Anbalagan polled 78642 votes while Ramanathan polled 77370 votes. DMK candidate Sezhiyan won the Thiruvidaimaruthur Assembly seat. He polled 77175 votes while his nearest AIADMK rival Pandiyarajan polled 76781 votes. The margin of victory was 394 votes. Congress retained Pattukottai Assembly seat when its candidate N.R.Rangarajan, sitting MLA was declared elected from Pattukottai. Rangarajan defeated his nearest DMDK rival Senthilkumar by 8779 votes. Rangarajan polled 55,482 votes while Senthilkumar polled 46,703 votes.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National