Five members have been appointed to the State Law Commission.

Justice T. Suthanthiram, former judge of the Madras High Court; R. Vivekanandan and R. Kathirvel, former additional secretaries in the State Law Department; R. Dayalan, former district judge and R. Munirathnam, another former district judge, were the new members, whose appointment has been cleared by Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, according to an official release issued on Friday.

While Justice Suthanthiram, Mr. Vivekanandan and Mr. Kathirvel would be full-time members, the other members would be part-time members. Mr-Kathirvel would also be member-secretary, the release added.

In January, former chief justice of Jharkhand High Court, Justice N. Dinakar, was appointed Chairman of the Commission.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National