The lowest is in Egmore where DMDK won by 202 votes

The Tirupur (North) Assembly constituency has recorded the highest margin of difference – 73,271 votes.

M.S.M. Anandan of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam defeated C. Govindasami of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, who was expelled from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) last year.

Mr. Anandan bagged 1,13,640 votes, while Mr. Govindasami got 40,369 votes.

Palladam, another constituency in the western belt, is next to the Tirupur constituency in terms of margin of votes between the winner and the loser. AIADMK nominee K.P. Paramasivam beat K. Balasubramanian of the Kongu Nadu Munnetra Kazhagam by a margin of 69,776 votes.

Kavudampalayam, yet another western constituency, closely follows Palladam. Here V.C. Arukutty of the AIADMK beat T.P. Subramanian of the DMK by a difference of 69,260 votes.

There were 10 other constituencies where the margin was over 50,000 votes.

Among them were Tiruvarur (margin:50,249 votes) where Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi defeated AIADMK candidate M. Rajendran; Natham (53,089 votes); Athoor (53,932 votes) and Kallakurichi (59,998 votes). In Natham and Athoor, both falling under the Dindigul district, former AIADMK Minister R. Viswanathan and the sitting Revenue Minister I. Periyasamy won respectively.

As for the lowest margin, Urban Development and Information Minister Parithi Ellamvazhuthi lost to K. Nallathambi of the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) in the Egmore constituency by a margin of 202 votes.

Mr Ellamvazhuthi was elected from the constituency five times since 1985.

In Chengalpattu, where D. Murugesan of the DMDK defeated Pattali Makkal Katchi nominee V.G. Rangasamy, the difference between the two was 291 votes.

Alangulam of Tirunelveli district comes next where Information Technology Minister Poongothai Aladi Aruna of the DMK lost to P.G. Rajendran of the AIADMK by a margin of 299 votes.

The other notable constituency in which the margin of votes was narrow included Tiruvadanai where Slum Clearance Minister Suba Thangavelan won by a margin of 927 votes, defeating DMDK nominee S. Mujipur Rahman.

Tiruchendur was yet another seat where DMK candidate Anitha S. Radhakrishnan, who was earlier in the AIADMK, won by a margin of 640 votes.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National