While postponing the counting of votes in Tiruchi (West) Assembly constituency from October 17 to October 20, Chief Electoral Officer Praveen Kumar on Monday said that no campaign would be allowed in the area after October 11 under the guise of local body polls.

This decision has been taken in view of the two-phased elections to the local bodies that will be held on October 17 and 19.

The campaign for the by-election to the Tiruchi (West) Assembly constituency ends on October 11 and it will go to polls on October 13. But, the Tiruchi Municipal Corporation goes to poll only on October 17 and it could be a pretext for the political parties to campaign in the area.

Mr. Praveen Kumar, in a press release, made it clear that any campaign in the area of the local body falling under the Assembly constituency would amount to campaign for the candidates contesting in the Assembly constituency.

“In that case it would be treated as violation of model code of conduct and an offence under section 126 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and suitable action would be initiated against the persons/parties concerned.”

He also called upon satellite channels, media and FM stations to abstain from broadcasting or publishing campaign in the local body falling under Tiruchi (West) Assembly constituency from 5 p.m. on October 11 to 5 p.m. on October 13.

The CEO said that functionaries and cadre of political parties brought to Tiruchi (West) Assembly constituency should leave after 5 p.m. on October 11. Marriage halls, community halls, lodges and guest houses would be checked to ensure that outsides were not staying there after the stipulated time.

On polling day, each candidate is entitled for vehicle permits — one vehicle for his use, one for the election agent and one for workers or party workers. There was no ban on people using private vehicles for personal purpose.

Mr. Praveen Kumar said that the release of results of opinion poll and conduct of opinion poll would be prohibited for 48 hours from 5 p.m. on October 11 to 5 p.m. on October 13.

Exit poll has already been banned from 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. on October 13.