National » Tamil Nadu

Updated: October 24, 2013 13:38 IST

Three-cornered contest likely in Yercaud by-poll

Special Correspondent
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
P. Saroja
Special Arrangement P. Saroja

With the ruling AIADMK naming P. Saroja, wife of deceased Yercaud MLA C. Perumal, as its candidate for the by-election caused by his death, the stage is now set for a keen contest in the December 4 by-poll.

Ms. Saroja called on Chief Minister Jayalalithaa on Wednesday. As the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), led by actor Vijayakant, is also keen on entering the fray, the constituency is likely to witness a three-cornered contest.

The DMK has already announced that V. Maran will be its candidate.

Winning by-elections has always been a prestige issue for ruling parties in Tamil Nadu. Of late, showing a very large margin of victory has become an obsession.

While the AIADMK has succeeded in getting the support of both the CPI(M) and CPI, DMK leader M. Karunanidhi’s efforts to bring the opposition on one platform to back his candidate has failed to materialise.

The two Left parties spurned his request to support the DMK candidate.

The Congress, erstwhile ally of the DMK, which voted in favour of Kanimozhi in the Rajya Sabha election, has made it clear that it is in no hurry to spell out its stand as its priority is the Assembly elections in five States.

A few days ago, CPI(M) State secretary G. Ramakrishnan announced his party’s decision to support the AIADMK candidate on the ground that Chief Minister Jayalalithaa was firm on opposing the neo-economic policies of the Congress-led UPA at the Centre.

On Wednesday, CPI state secretary D. Pandian said as the CPI(M) already indicated its stand, his party also would adopt a similar line in the by-poll.

PMK leader S. Ramadoss had already made it clear that his party would neither contest the polls nor support any party. BJP has decided to stay away from the election, but has not yet revealed whether it would support candidates of other political parties.

This will be the fourth Assembly by-election in Tamil Nadu since the AIADMK came to power in 2011.

Tiruchi (West) and Pudukottai constituency went to the polls after the legislators representing the constituencies were killed in road accidents.

The death of C. Karuppasamy, a two-time minister, led to a by-election to Sankarankoil constituency.

The ruling party won all three elections.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

The first few scenes in Gnana Rajasekaran’s Ramanujan, which details the life of the mathematics genius, are all about the acknowledgement of this genius. As a boy, he baffles his teacher w... »

Listen to The Hindu's Sports Editor Nirmal Shekar speak to our Sports-Writer Arun Venugopal on the World Cup and India's tour of England...Listen in »

Gujarat, Rajasthan and Punjab: The Need for a Border States Group

The aim of the research report by Tridivesh Singh Maini is to examine the approach of the political leadership, as well as the business community, in three ‘border States’ towards India-Pakistan ties.This paper has sought to look at a number of factors, which include politics, economics as well as security issues.Read Article »

Tweets @the_hindu


More Resources »


Please remember to logout of facebook after you complete this session.



Recent Article in Tamil Nadu

Health Minister C. Vijaya Baskar (third right) and Municipal Administration and Rural Development Minister S.P. Velumani visiting a stall after inaugurating ‘Nalam 2014’, a three-day medical exhibition organised by the PSG Hospitals, in Coimbatore on Saturday. Photo: K. Ananthan

Tamil Nadu a trendsetter in health schemes in country, says Health Minister

State also accounts for the highest number of cadaver transplants, he says »