Archana Patnaik, the longest serving officer as a District Collector in The Nilgris, was on Sunday transferred and posted as District Collector, Coimbatore. Ms. Patnaik assumed charge as Collector of the Nilgris on March 15, 2010.

M. Karunakaran, Coimbatore District Collector, who was considered to be tough in dealing with real estate barons, has been shifted to Tirunelveli district, while it’s present incumbent C. Samayamoorthy has been transferred. Mr. Karunakaran played an active role in preventing encroachment in the elephant corridor and was instrumental to cleaning the Ukkadam Tank with assistance of the public and a non-governmental organisation.

After a 27-month stint as Collector of Thanjavur, K. Baskaran, has been transferred to Kancheepuram district where the District Collector, L. Sitherasenan was suspended by the State government. Mr. Baskaran, who moved over to Thanjavur from Tiruvarur in June 2011, was given the Chief Minister’s award for speedy disposal of petitions addressed to the CM’s Cell during the same year. In 2012, he received an award for leveraging the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme for mitigating drought during 2011-12. N. Subbaiyan, Joint Managing Director of Tamil Nadu Water Supply and Drainage Board (TWAD) was transferred and posted as Thanjavur District Collector. P. Shankar, Vellore District Collector was transferred and posted as District Collector of The Nilgris while R. Nanthagopal, Commissioner of Madurai Corporation was shifted to Vellore as District Collector.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National