The six candidates – four representing the ruling AIADMK, one each from the CPI (M) and the DMK – who have filed nominations to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu will be elected without contest. Though there are only two independent candidates in the fray, they will not be able to get past the scrutiny stage unless backed by a political party.

The filing of nominations ended on Tuesday and the decision of the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam to stay away from the contest has cleared the route for all the six candidates. Though a section of media speculated that Union Minister G.K.Vasan will make a bid, this did not happen. The AIADMK has nominated A.K. Selvaraj, Vijila Sathyanand, L. Sasikala Pushpa and S. Muthukaruppan. CPI (M) re-nominated T.K. Rangarajan. The DMK candidate is Tiruchi N. Siva.

The nominations will be scrutinised on Wednesday in the presence of Chief Electoral Officer Praveen Kumar. Withdrawal can be made till January 31. Results will be declared after that.