The Election Commission of India today announced bye-elections to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu following the resignation of AIADMK’s K V Ramalingam on his being elected to the State assembly.

The Commission will issue the notification on July 5 and the last date for filing nominations is July 12, an official press release said.

The poll is scheduled for July 22, it said.

Mr. Ramalingam, who was elected to the assembly from Erode constituency in the April 13 assembly polls, is PWD Minister in the 35-member cabinet headed by Ms. Jayalalithaa.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National