The MDMK on Saturday announced that it will contest in the Lok Sabha elections. As part of the preparatory works, it also said that it had nominated a four-member committee to hold talks on poll alliance.

In a press release, the party general secretary, Vaiko, said the committee would consist of R. Masilamani, party treasurer, A. Ganesamoorthy, MP, Imayam Jebaraj, member of the high-level committee, and S. Sevanthiappan, Sivaganga district secretary. A meeting of the district secretaries was held at the party headquarters here on Saturday.

Later in the evening at a function, three books written by Mr. Vaiko “Vellum Soll,” “Enn Anna” and “Puratchi Kadhirgal” were released. Thamizharuvi Manian who presided appealed to DMDK leader Vijayakant to join the MDMK-BJP alliance. The BJP leaders Pon. Radhakrishnan and L. Ganesan were present on the occasion.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National