The AIADMK front polled 45.50 lakh votes more than the DMK-led alliance in the recent Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, representing a 12.36 percentage point lead. The AIADMK alliance's vote share recorded a quantum leap of 11.89 percentage points over its performance in the 2006 polls, when it secured only 69 seats.

Of the total valid votes of 3.68 crore, the combine led by the AlADMK polled a total of 1.90 crore votes, accounting for more than half the total number. The DMK front ended up with 1.45 crore votes.

The AIADMK combine's landslide victory –203 out of 234 seats -- was made possible by a big jump in its vote share. It shot up to 51.80 per cent as against the 39.91 per cent it polled in 2006.

The DMK front saw a five percentage point swing away from it. From 44.75 per cent in 2006, its vote share dipped to 39.44 per cent.

In terms of individual performance, the AIADMK polled 38.41 per cent (1,41,49,681 votes); the DMDK got 7.88 per cent (29,02,813); the CPI(M) 2.41 per cent (8,88,364); the CPI 1.97 per cent (7,27,394); the Manithaneya Makkal Katchi 0.49 per cent (1,81,180); the Puthiya Tamizhagam 0.40 per cent (1,46,454) and the All India Forward Bloc 0.24 per cent (88,253).

On the other side, the DMK secured 22.39 per cent (82,49,985); the Congress 9.30 per cent (34,26,247); the PMK 5.23 per cent (19,27,260); the Viduthalai Chiruthaikal Katchi 1.51 per cent (5,55,965) and the Kongunadu Munnetra Kazhagam one per cent (3,70,044).

Keywords: TN poll results