National » Tamil Nadu

Updated: May 17, 2014 09:43 IST

Mani Shankar Aiyar finishes fourth

P. V. Srividya
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Mani Shankar Aiyar. File photo: V. Ganesan
The Hindu
Mani Shankar Aiyar. File photo: V. Ganesan

Veteran Congress leader Mani Shankar Aiyar was trounced at the hustings with a vote count of 58,278 in the Mayiladuthurai Lok Sabha constituency.

The AIADMK’s Bharathi Mohan pocketed victory with a massive margin of 2,76,597 votes by polling 5,12,521 votes. Mr.Bharathi Mohan beat Hyder Ali of the MNMK who contested in alliance with the DMK. Mr.Ali polled 2,35,924 votes.

The Congress veteran is testing his luck in the constituency for the seventh time. Mr.Aiyar who has won the constituency thrice had to settle for the fourth spot. PMK’s Agoram emerged third with a total vote tally of 1,43,464 votes in the constituency with a sizeable Vanniyar votes.

Mr.Aiyar’s defeat was stark in comparison with the low vote margin by which he lost the 2009 Lok Sabha poll in the constituency. In 2009, Mr.Aiyar had lost the poll by 36,854 votes after getting 3,27,235 votes.

A total of 13,143 votes were polled under NOTA.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Jayalalithaa wealth case

More Jayalalithaa wealth case »








Recent Article in Tamil Nadu

DMK president M Karunanidhi. File photo

Karunanidhi seeks Bharat Ratna for Periyar, Anna

The DMK chief also extended his greetings to the "leaders" for being chosen for the country’s highest civilian honour. »