The Kongunadu Munnetra Kazhagam is hopeful of contesting from at least one constituency in Tirupur district from among the seven seats allocated by the DMK in the Assembly polls, according to KMK State treasurer K. Balasubramaniam.

Preferred seats

“We have given a list of preferred constituencies that include Palladam, Avinashi, Kangeyam, Dharapuram and Udumalpet in Tirupur district,” he told reporters here on Saturday.

From other districts, the KMK had preferred choices from among Pollachi and Sulur (both in Coimbatore district), Erode (West), Perundurai, Modakurichi and Gobichettipalayam (all in Erode district), Aravakurichi (Karur district), among few more.

On the decision to go for an alliance with the DMK even though the KMK was critical of both the DMK and AIADMK alliances during the last Parliamentary polls, Mr. Balasubramaniam said that the DMK was found to be better among the two since the present government had come out with many pro-people measures.

“Moreover, we found that allying with one of the major forces is essential for entering the Legislative Assembly so that the grievances of electors in the Kongu region can be redressed quickly.”

He promised that party workers will work wholeheartedly to ensure that the DMK alliance candidates in all 55 constituencies in the Kongu region, where the KMK has strongholds, emerge victorious.