Chief Minister Jayalalithaa will present a host of awards to recipients at an event at the Secretariat on Republic Day.

This follows requests from the recipients who wanted to get the awards from the Chief Minister personally, according to an official release issued on Tuesday. Given in recognition of contributions made by individuals in the field of Tamil promotion, the awards to be distributed on that day would be Periyar award, Ambedkar award, Anna award, Kamarajar award, Bharatiar award, Bharatidasan award, Thiru Vi Ka award, and K.A.P. Viswanatham award.

Originally, they were to be given on Wednesday (January 15) on the occasion of Thiruvalluvar Day. However, the Thiruvalluvar Award would be presented to Yuhsi of Taiwan only on Wednesday as it was felt to give away the award on the day named after Thriuvalluvar, the release stated, adding that this recipient would be on his way to Chennai. Also, 30 old indigent Tamil scholars would be given the government orders, sanctioning financial assistance to them.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National | News