Tamil Nadu

IAS officers transferred, new Collectors for 5 districts


The State government has transferred over 20 officers of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and new Secretaries have been posted for the departments of Industries and Health. Five districts will have new Collectors.

Vikram Kapur, who belongs to the 1988 batch, will be Principal Secretary of the Industries Department as Dr. Sundaradevan, Additional Chief Secretary looking after the department, will retire on Monday.

J. Radhakrishnan of the 1992 batch, who is now Secretary of the Special Programme Implementation Department, is the new Health Secretary.

N. Mathivanan, Director of Sugar and Managing Director of the Tamil Nadu Sugar Corporation, who was one of those against whom the Directorate of Vigilance and Anti Corruption filed a case a few weeks ago in the granite matter, has been posted Joint Secretary in the Industries Department. His house was also searched as part of the probe. The case pertained to his tenure as a Madurai District Collector.

Hans Raj Verma, Chairman and Managing Director of the Small Industries Development Corporation, has been posted Principal Secretary of the Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Department.

Girija Vaidyanathan, who has been moved out of the Health Department, is the Chairperson and Managing Director of the Power Finance and Infrastructure Development Corporation.

M. Balaji, former Collector of Virudhunagar, whose proactive approach earned appreciation from a cross-section of people, has been made Member-Secretary of the State Planning Commission.

P. Senthil Kumar, who briefly held the post of Transport Commissioner, is Special Secretary in the Health and Family Welfare Department.

Mahesan Kasirajan, Director of Employment and Training, will succeed Mr. Mathivanan as Director of Sugar and Managing Director of the Tamil Nadu Sugar Corporation and G. Prakash, Joint Secretary in the Industries Department, will take over Mr. Kasirajan’s present position.

Similarly, the roles of B. Jothi Nirmala and V.M. Xavier Chrisso Nayagam get swapped. Ms. Nirmala will become Secretary of the State Election Commission and Mr. Nayagam Social Welfare Director.

Likewise, Kumar Jayant will be Project Director and Member Secretary of the Tamil Nadu State AIDS Control Society while A. Chittaranjan Mohandoss will be the new Public and Rehabilitation Secretary.

Anil Meshram is the new Director of Agricultural Marketing and Agri Business; V. Mohanraj — Deputy Secretary in the Transport Department and J. Chandrakumar — Director of Land Reforms.


S. Jayandhi, Chennai Collector, is the new Karur Collector. Four other Collectors are: C. Manoharan — Pudukkottai; G. Govindaraj — Tiruppur; J. Jeyakanthan — Chennai and Pooja Kulkarni — Krishnagiri.

The present Collectors in the districts of Pudukottai, Tiruppur and Krishnagiri, V. Kalaiarasi, M. Mathivanan and C.N. Maheswaran, have been posted Additional Registrar of Cooperative Societies, Additional Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj and Deputy Commissioner (Health) of Chennai Corporation respectively.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 19, 2017 4:38:31 AM | http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/ias-officers-transferred-new-collectors-for-5-districts/article3942858.ece