Former Ministers in the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam government O. Panneerselvam (60), K.A. Sengottaiyan (58), Pollachi V. Jayaraman (58), former Member of Parliament Thanga Tamilselvan (48) and another leader of the party Thirumangalam M. Jeyaraman (62) have filed an anticipatory bail application at the Madras High Court Bench here in an ‘attempt to murder' case registered against them by Koodalkovil police on December 12, 2008.

According to the petitioners, they had gone to Eliyarpathi on the Madurai-Aruppukottai road on the day of the incident to meet their party speaker and actor Ramarajan whose car was attacked by rival party men. A Sub-Inspector of police attached to Koodalkovil station registered a case against them and 62 others on charges of pelting police vehicles with stones.

The case was registered under Sections 147 (rioting), 148 (rioting armed with deadly weapon), 307 (attempt to murder) read with Section 149 (every member of unlawful assembly guilty of offence committed in prosecution of common object), 353 (assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharging his duty) of the Indian Penal Code. AIADMK MLA R. Samy and 51 others were arrested and later released on bail granted by the High Court Bench on January 12, 2009.

Keywords: AIADMK