The move facilitates bringing in more areas under their jurisdiction

Five units of the Transport Department in Sholinganallur, Ambattur, Vaniyambadi, Mayiladuthurai and Srivilliputhur have been upgraded as Regional Transport Offices (RTOs).

The move facilitates bringing in more areas under their jurisdiction and giving them additional responsibilities.

The Home Department in an order upgrading the unit offices, on Tuesday said the decision followed an announcement by Chief Minister in the Assembly under Rule 110.

The jurisdiction of the new RTOs will be as follows: Ambattur – Ambattur taluk, Mogappair East (Chennai-37), Mogappair West (Chennai-58), Padi (Chennnai-50), Ambattur North (Chennai-53), Ambattur Estate (Chennai-58), Ambattur (Chennai-98), Korattur (Chennai 76 and 80), and Thirumullaivoyal (Chennai – 62); and Sholinganallur – Sholinganallur taluk.

Vaniyambadi RTO jurisdiction will cover Vaniyambadi, Ambur and Thirupathur taluks and the unit offices of Ambur and Thirupathur; while that of Mayiladuthurai RTO will be Mayiladuthurai, Kuthalam, Tharangambadi and Sirkali taluks besides the unit office in Sirkali. The limits of the new RTO in Srivilliputhur will be Srivilliputhur, Rajapalayam and Sivakasi taluks and the unit office in Sivakasi.

For the five new RTOs, the government is sanctioning a little over Rs. 2.77 crore. Besides the existing posts, it has also sanctioned new temporary posts for the upgraded facilities.

In his proposal, the Transport Commissioner had stated that there had been rise in the number of transport and non-transport vehicles and issue of driving licences and registration certificates in the jurisdiction of the five unit offices. Further, people residing in the jurisdiction had to travel a long distance to the RTOs.


Testing times for congested RTOs in cityOctober 16, 2012

More In: Tamil Nadu | National