Higher research centres to be set up in the name of Swami Vivekananda.

Besides an allocation of Rs. 150 crore for building infrastructure for the regional centres of the Anna University, Chief Minister Jayalaithaa on Monday announced the creation of higher research and education centres in nine universities in the name of Swami Vivekananda.

Making a suo motu statement in the Assembly, she said four more arts and science colleges, two affiliated colleges and a polytechnic would be started in the State and one engineering college in her Srirangam Assembly constituency.

Ms. Jayalalithaa said Rs. 30 crore each would be spent on creating educational infrastructure for Madurai and Coimbatore regional centres. The government would also spend Rs. 10 crore each for constructing students’ hostels in Madurai, Coimbatore and Tirunelveli regional centres.

The constituent engineering colleges in Dindigul, Ramanathapuram, Tuticorin and Nagercoil would get students’ hostels at a cost of Rs. 10 crore each. Similarly the constituent colleges in Pattukottai and Panruti would get hostels at a cost of Rs. 5 crore each.

The Chief Minister said Rs. 10 crore would be spent on providing electricity, drinking water, sanitations and other facilities for all the 12 constituent colleges of the Anna University.

Ms. Jayalalitha said taking into consideration the relevance of the teachings of Swami Vivekananda, her government had decided to set up higher research and education centres in his name. These centres would come up in the Madras University, Madurai Kamaraj University, Bharathiyar University, Bharathidasan University, Mother Teresa University, Alagappa University, Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Periyar University and Tiruvalluvar University. The allocation for each centre was Rs 25 lakh.

Ms. Jayalalithaa said eight new arts and science colleges had been announced in the budget and, now, the government had decided to start four more colleges.

Eleven colleges would be set up in Sivakasi in Virudhunagar district, Kovilpatti in Tuticorin district, Kadaladi, Muthukalathur and Tiruvadanai in Ramanathapuram district, Karambakudi in Pudukottai district, Hosur in Krishnagiri district, Kumarapalayam in Namakkal district, Kangeyam in Tirupur district, Uthiramerur in Kacheepuram district and Peravurani in Thanjavur. One arts and science college for women would come up in Karimangalam in Dharmapuri district.

Moreover, the Chief Minister also announced two more constituent arts and science colleges. Veppur in Perambalur district would get a women’s college and Tittakudi in Cuddalore district would get one arts and science college.

She said since Tiruchi, the centre of the State, had no government engineering colleges, the government would start a college in Srirangam. Cheyyar in Tiruvannamalai district would get a polytechnic.