Candidates of the Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam on Friday filed their nominations for the by-election to the Sankarankoil Assembly constuency.

While DMDK candidate K. Muthukumar, accompanied by party office-bearers, filed his nomination before tahsildar and assistant returning officer, S. Damodharan, MDMK candidate T. Sadan Thirumalaikumar filed the papers without much fanfare.

MDMK general secretary Vaiko is expected to camp at Sankarankoil for 20 days and campaign. Mr. Vaiko's native Kalingapatti falls under this reserved segment and MDMK workers have started canvassing votes for Dr. Thirumalaikumar.

“The eight-hour long power cut a day has almost wiped out the power loom industry at Sankarankoil. Issues such as inflation and poor administration will certainly favour our candidate. Moreover, Mr. Vaiko's campaign will certainly give an edge over the rivals and hence the MDMK will have its representative after this by-poll,” said K.M.A. Nizam, MDMK political council member. On Thursday the AIADMK candidate S. Muthuselvi filed her nomination.