After several days of intense parleys, the Congress and DMK have come to an understanding over the number of seats and constituencies to be contested in the Assembly elections. According to the deal, the Congress has left 10 seats to DMK, one less than the party contested in the 2006 polls, in the 30-member Legislative Assembly. In principle, the Congress also decided to provide a nominated MLA post to DMK, it was learnt reliably.

A senior Congress leader told The Hindu that the party has decided to leave 10 seats to DMK and identified the constituencies. An understanding was reached after DMK withdrew its claim for Raj Bhavan and Embalom constituencies; both sitting seats of the party. In return, the Congress decided to leave Oupalam Assembly segment to the DMK

Besides Oupalam, the constituencies left for DMK included Muthialpet, Mudliarpet, Nellithope, Orleanpet, Ousudu, Thattanchavady, Ozhukarai, T. R Pattinam and Karaikal (South). Of the remaining 20 seats, the Congress had not yet decided on the seats to be allocated to Pattali Makkal Katchi and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi. In the last election, PMK was given two seats and a nominated MLA post. The Congress high command is in direct talks with PMK and VCK leaderships, he said, adding that it would be finalised by Wednesday.

Meanwhile, efforts to forge an alliance between All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and N. R Congress continue. Speaking to The Hindu over phone, president of N R Congress Ranagasamy said a decision would be taken very shortly.