The police on Monday registered two cases against more than 50 DMK members for allegedly distributing cash to voters at Karipatti Palathottam in the Yercaud Assembly constituency, where byelection will be held on December 4. Those booked included Rajya Sabha member T.M. Selvaganapathy, former Food Minister E.V. Velu, party district secretary (in-charge) S.R. Sivalingam, and former MLA G. Sekar

Police said Rs. 99,175 (Rs. 21,500 from one car and Rs. 77,675 from another) in cash was seized. The DMK members were allegedly distributing Rs.500 each to voters to get support for their candidate V. Maran. Drivers of the two cars, K. Rajesh (27) and G. Sekhar (52), were arrested.

According to police, a case was registered against Mr. Selvaganapathy and four others for allegedly distributing money to voters of Karipatti Palathottam around 9 a.m. Police also registered a case against Mr. Velu, former MLA Sekar Babu and 51 others for allegedly distributing money to voters at Chettiankudiyirupu around 7 a.m. on Monday.

There was tension near the Kariapatti police station for a few hours as DMK cadres and representatives, who came there after the seizure of the money and cars, claimed that the cases were foisted on them.

Police on Sunday registered a case against AIADMK leader and MP M. Thambi Durai for allegedly threatening a DMK functionary.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National