Days after announcing that her party would contest the December 19 bypolls for Vandavasi and Tiruchendur, AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa on Monday announced the party’s candidates for the two seats.

P Munusamy and Amman T Narayanan will contest from Vandavasi (SC) and Tiruchendur constituencies respectively, Jayalalithaa said in a statement here.

The main opposition party had boycotted the five constituency Assembly polls in August, claiming they would not be free and fair.

The by-polls were necessitated following the death of DMK MLA from Vandavasi, S C Jayaraman and resignation of former AIADMK MLA Anitha Radhakrishnan, who joined the DMK recently.

Ms. Jayalalithaa had said last week that her party had not called for a permanent boycott of polls, but had done so for the August bypolls to “show our opposition.” While the DMK is scheduled to announce its candidates in a day or two, the CPI and CPI(M), which defied former alliance chief AIADMK’s diktat of poll boycott of the August by-polls, are yet to decide on contesting the bypolls.