A broad picture has emerged on the seats to be shared by the allies in the BJP-DMDK front in the State for the Lok Sabha polls, subject to a couple of final adjustments by Monday.

A senior BJP leader told The Hindu that the DMDK had been allotted Tiruvallur, Central Chennai, North Chennai, Madurai, Salem, Tiruchi, Tirunelveli, Villupuram, Cuddalore, Kallakurichi, Tiruvannamalai, Pollachi, Namakkal and Dindigul constituencies.

On the other hand, the BJP was likely to contest from Kanyakumari, Coimbatore, South Chennai, Sivagangai, Ramanathapuram, Nilgiris, Sriperumbudur and Thanjavur, whereas the PMK would field its candidates in Dharmapuri, Arakkonam, Arani, Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Krishnagiri and Vellore.

For the MDMK, Virudhunagar, Tuticorin, Tenkasi, Theni, Karur, Kancheepuram and Erode have been allotted.

The source said as far as Tiruppur was concerned, the BJP wanted to field a candidate there but the seat was being eyed by the Kongu Nadu Makkal Desiya Katchi. This overlap would be sorted out by Sunday. The Indiya Jananayaga Katchi was likely to contest from Perambalur.


Constituency watch: Tamil NaduMarch 7, 2014

More In: Tamil Nadu | National