The inaugural Bharati award has been given to Tamil writer-novelist D. Jayakanthan.

The government has named recipients of two other awards — M.S. Subbulakshmi award and Balasaraswathi award. Illayaraja, veteran film music director, has been chosen for the Subbulakshmi award and Padma Subrahmanyam, Bharatanatyam dancer, for the Balasaraswathi award.

Instituted by the State Art and Culture Department, the awards carry a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh each, according to an official release issued on Monday.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National